Skipper Sharma inspires Snooker Stars to victory 11-Jul-2019
Raajeev Sharma Raajeev Sharma

Mumbai: Inspired by skipper Raajeev Sharma’s fine performances Malabar Hill Club team MHCL ‘Snooker Stars’ advanced to the quarter-finals of the Billiards & Snooker Association of Maharashtra organized Otters-BSAM Mumbai Snooker League 2019.
The flambouyant Sharma teamed up with Akshat Kejriwal to win the 9-red doubles, third frame and later succeeded in winning the 15-red singles fifth frame to help Snooker Stars scrape past P.J. Hindu Gymkhana’s team PJHG ‘Jolly Six’ 3-2 in the best-of-five-frame pre-quarter-final match, at the Otters Club billiards room.
In a closely contested encounter Malabar Hill Club’s seasoned campaigner Manan Panchal (+20 handicap) put up a good fight against Sanjay Jhaveri (+40) but fell short, losing by a narrow 70-81 point difference in the 15-red singles, first frame. In the second singles frame, Manan Shah (+40) comfortably prevailed over Rovin D'Souza (+20) 87-50 to help Snooker Stars restore parity at 1-all.
Later, Malabar Hill Club duo of Sharma and Kejriwal (+26) combined perfectly to tame the Hindu Gymkhana pair of Kirit Raiyaani and Devensh Jariwala (+29) 86-44 to take the lead before D’Souza avenged the earlier defeat as he outshone Shah breezing to 104-63 win in the singles fourth frame and level the match scores at 2-2 and take the contest to the wire.
In the deciding frame, Sharma was all charged up and with some steady consistent pots managed to build tidy efforts and eased to a 114-84 win against Jhaveri to clinch a satisfying victory for his team.
In Friday’s quarter-finals, Snooker Stars will meet Radio Tigers, who also recorded a close 3-2 win against JVPG Tigers in another pre-quarter-final match.
Radio Club’s seasoned cueist Merzi Screwvala played a stellar role by winning both his 15-red singles ties. Screwvala (+30) defeated Rajni Mashru (+50) in the third frame and again in crucial fifth to confirm Radio Tigers progress to the last eight round.
Earlier, Radio Club’s captain Cherag Ramakrishnan and Tehkum Alim (+21) defeated the rival pairing of Vishnu Kedia and Bharat Mehta (+33) 79-42 in the 9-red doubles, second frame after Vimal Mariwala (+35) lost the opening singles frame to Dhruv Kanani (+45) 71-89.
Kanani provide JVPG Tigers  with a fighting chance when he overcame Ramakrishnan (+20) by a wide margin of 78-55 points in the fourth frame to ensure his team drew level and force the fifth frame, which they lost.
Results – Pre-quarter-finals: Radio Tigers beat JVPG Tigers 3-2 - (Vimal Mariwalla (+35) lost Dhruv Kanani (+45) 71-89; Cherag Ramakrishnan/ Tehkum Alim (+21) beat Vishnu Kedia/ Bharat Mehta (+33) 79-42; Merzi Screwvala (+30) beat Rajni Mashru (+50) 105-56; Cherag Ramakrishnan (+20) lost Dhruv Kanani (+45) 55-78; Merzi Screwvala (+30) beat Rajni Mashru (+50) 11-7-58).
MHCL Snooker Stars beat PJHG Jolly Six 3-2 - (Manav Panchal (+20) lost Sanjay Jhaveri (+40) 70-81; Manan Shah (+40) beat Rovin D'Souza (+20) 87-50; Rajeev Sharma/ Akshat Kejriwal (+26) beat Kirit Raiyaani/ Devensh Jariwala (+29) 86-44; Manan Shah (+40) lost Rovin D'Souza (+20) 63-104; Rajeev Sharma (+40) beat Sanjay Jhaveri (+40) 114-84).