Impressive MIG ‘Monks’ blank JVPG ‘Fossils’ 23-Jun-2019
Nitesh Madaan Nitesh Madaan

Mumbai: MIG Cricket Club team MIG ‘Monks’ were at their brilliant best and swept away Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana outfit JVPG ‘Fossils’ by coasting to comprehensive 3-0 wins in both the home and away fixtures in Section-N during the first week of the Billiards & Snooker of Maharashtra organized Otters-BSAM Mumbai Snooker League 2019.
The MIG team comprising of Anuj Soni and Soham Sawant, who both played the singles frames and the doubles combination of Gaurav Prabhu and Gunmeen Kholi had an outstanding week and cruised to victory in both ties without losing a singles frame. They have now collected five points including one bonus point having won both the matches.
Bombay Gymkhana’s BG ‘A’ and North India Association’s NIA ‘Surgical Strikers’, also recorded twins. Nitesh Madan won all his three frames, including the deciding fifth frame in the away match, to guide BG ‘A’ to 3-0 and 3-2 wins against Chembur Gymkhana’s CG ‘Titans’ in Section-L. India number two Laxman Rawat lost both the frames in the away match, but compiled a break of 56 in winning the first frame at home. Later Madan won the second frame before th doubles pairing of Kaizad Fitter and Abhishek Bajaj clinched the doubles tie to complete the win.
In Section-M, NIA Surgical Strikers prevailed over P.J. Hindu Gymkhana’s PJHG ‘Stars by a 3-0 and 3-2 margins to also pick up a bonus point.
Hindu Gymkhana’s PJHG ‘Jolly Six’ and Santacruz ‘Sunrisers’, both also enjoyed a very successful week. PJHG Jolly Six defeated NSCI ‘A’ 3-2 and 3-0 in Section-O and in Section-P, Santacruz ‘Sunrisers’ got the better of Dombivali Gymkhana team DG ‘Warriors’ by identical 3-1 margins.
Results – Sections I-P (1st week):
Section-I: Radio ‘Warriors’ Vs MG ‘Bingo’ - (3-0, 0-3).
Section-J: CCI ‘Vikings’ Vs NSCI ‘Underdogs’ - (1-3, 3-2).
Section-K: IG ‘B’ Vs Otters ‘Hurricanes’ - (3-1, 2-3).
Section-L: BG ‘A’ Vs CG ‘Titans’ - (3-0, 3-2).
Section-M: NIA ‘Surgical Strikers’ Vs PJHG ‘Stars’ - (3-0, 3-2).
Section-N: MIG ‘Monks’ Vs JVPG ‘Fossils’ - (3-0, 3-0).
Section-O: PJHG ‘Jolly Six’ Vs NSCI ‘A’ - (3-2, 3-0).
Section-P: Santacruz ‘Sunrisers’ Vs DG ‘Warriors’ - (3-1, 3-1).